AFP Advancement Northwest’s 2017 Board of Directors

Our board is a group of volunteer professionals who generously share their time and expertise to help fundraisers build their proficiency and advance their careers. In 2015, as part of the transition from two organizations to a single association, each board position will be represented by co-officers and co-board members from each of the two organizations that merged: one from the Association of Fundraising Professionals Washington Chapter (AFP WA), the other from the Northwest Development Officers Association (NDOA).

2017 Board of Directors after a successful full day retreat 


  • President Lara Littlefield, CFRE, Chief Advancement Officer for Innovation, University of Washington
  • President-elect Elizabeth Castleberry, CFRE (for 2018), Executive Director, King County Library Foundation
  • Immediate Past President Ray Li, Director of International Advancement, UW Regional & International Advancement 
  • Treasurer Victoria Kitts, Audit Manager, Clark Nuber PS
  • Secretary Asa Tate, Director of Philanthropy & Mission, Make-A-Wish Alaska and Washington

Vice Presidents & Chairs

  • VP of Diversity & Inclusion Katelen Kellogg, Community Engagmeent Manager, Pride Foundation
  • Co-VP of Member Relations April Johnson, Assistant Dean, University of Washington College of Social Work
  • Co-VP of Member Relations Jason Dick, Director of Donor Relations - International, CRISTA Ministries
  • VP of Programs (Monthly) Julie Bianchi, Consultant, Collins Group, a division of Campbell & Company
  • VP of Strategic Initiatives Christie Cotterill, CFRE, Development Assistant Director, WSU College of Veterinary Medicine
  • VP of Large Programs Daniel Webb, Associate Director of Advancement, University of Washington
  • Co-Chair of Forum on Strategic Fundraising Andrea John-Smith, Principal, Scout Finch Consulting
  • Co-Chair of Forum on Strategic Fundraising Libby SingerAdvancement Manager, University of Washington School of Public Health
  • Chair of Forum on Strategic Fundraising Tracks Jeanne Galloway, ND, Director of Development/Physician, Bloodworks Northwest
  • Chair of AFP 101 Shoko Toyama, Development & Events Manager, Plymouth Housing Group
  • Co-Chair of Monthly Programs Karen Mudd, Interim Chief Development Officer, The Jewish Federation of Greater Seattle
  • Co-Chair of Monthly Programs Troy Coalman, Director of Annual Giving and Community Engagement, Farestart
  • VP Community Partnerships Sarah Brooks, Associate Director, Methow Conservancy
  • Co-Chair of Sponsorship Kate Banta-Green, MPA, CFRE, Consultant, Collins Group, a division of Campbell & Company
  • Co-Chair of Sponsorship Michelle Banks, Associate Director for Advancement, University of Washington
  • Chair of National Philanthropy Day Sharon Hurt, Director of Advancement, Charles Wright Academy
  • Chair of Whatcom County Programs Brad Tuininga, Major Gifts & Campaign Director, Skagit Valley College Foundation
  • Chair of Social Media B. Michelle Johnson, Director of Development, Legal Voice
  • Chair of Public Policy Kirk Laughlin, Director of Advancement, Seattle Children's Museum, also serves as Chair of Public Policy & U.S. Government Relations Committee with AFP International

Board Members

  • Lisa Bury, Director of Development, Seattle Opera
  • Maya HemachandraResource Development Director, Solid Ground
  • Abbey Norris, Associate Director of Philanthropy, UW Medicine Advancement
  • Helen Sernett, CFRE, Senior Development Officer, Bloodworks Northwest
  • Shoko Toyama, Development & Events Manager, Plymouth Housing Group
  • Jeffrey Wilcox, CFRE, President & CEO, Third Sector Company

Saluting our past leaders

We are grateful for the leadership of the past presidents of AFP Advancement Northwest, AFP Washington and NDOA.

Current Board Member Volunteer Login